Suffragette 2015.

I had wanted to go and see this film ever since I watched the trailer and knew Helena Bonham Carter (who is one of my favourite actresses) was to play a character in it. As a young female of this generation, you feel very inspired by the women of the Suffragette movement and how they consistently fought for women’s rights that we live by today. So naturally, I was extremely intrigued that a film was made about the Suffragette movement that portrayed the rise of woman power and the extreme lengths the women went to fight for their rights, and so of course I was expecting a dramatic, powerful and inspirational experience to effectively showcase this!

I definitely was not disappointed with the film and I thought it was absolutely amazing and featured phenomenal performances from the cast that really connected with the audience. I truly believe the cinematography was fantastic in portraying realistic context and bringing out emotion more deeply that made me really feel sympathetic for the characters (especially Maud). Although what I was quite saddened about was that they way the film was made is quite disappointing in the way that it doesn’t quite live up to the massive hype created around the film.

In my opinion, I am sure that the women’s rights movement went on for years yet the film seemed to show only a few weeks of it from when Maud became apart of the group till when Emily jumped in front of a horse at the races which made the film seem very slow and a bit of an anti climax as I was expecting to see more of the actual fight rather a lot of the normal day they lived by. I did appreciate the portrayal of normal day living for the women, however, as it showed very good context and elaborated the importance the rights were for the women as their living and working conditions were appalling and clearly not very fair compared to the men — they were treated like property and not people. But at the same time I think that would’ve been a good reason to really showcase the rebellion and the rise of the movement. The film ended on the death of Emily Wilding Davison which I think would’ve been a really good cause of conflict and disequilibrium in the film and then end on a new equilibrium of the women actually being granted the rights and winning their case; which would have followed Todorov’s narrative theory.

Also, I thought Meryl Streep was meant to be a huge star in the film as she played Emmeline Pankhurst yet she only appeared in a few of the scenes which was disappointing as I really wanted to see a lot of lead from her as the groups leader and one of the most famous Suffragettes!

Moreover, I feel like it would’ve been a good idea to make the text at the end actually apart of the film rather than just text. I feel this can in some ways be effective as it can portray seriousness, yet I feel a lot of text was used which made the ending seem a little bit lazy and shoved together at the last minute? If you get what I mean. I thought it would be cool if they cut out some of the beginning and made the ending into what the text said, so we’d watch the storyline rather than read it. And! I have so many unanswered questions! For example, what happened to George? He was the cutest child ever. What happened to Sonny her husband, did he take her back? What happened to Edith and how’s her heart? Where did Pankhurst go and what did she do next? What did the Parliament do after Emily’s death? What happened to the man from the laundry place? Do you know, it would’ve been good if George got to reunite with Maud after the rights were granted, or they could show celebration!

Overall, I do wish they made a scene on the granting of the women’s rights so we can see the suffragettes hard work rewarded and witness their rein-acted success, but it was a very good film and I would recommend it. Thank you for reading!

Joc

Archived Thoughts.

Leave a Reply

