Smoked Haddock A La Joc | Recipe

Generally the way I like to cook consists of a ‘a bit of this and a bit of that’ and ‘this might taste nice with that’ method. Mostly, this is due to either one or more of the following reasons:

-I have never really taken to being a magnificent chef.

-I’m tired and want food asap.

-I don’t have the ingredients for a proper recipe so I’ll make my own.

Although I admit this way of cooking may not be the best as you are gambling the actual taste and overall edibleness of your food, but on the rare occasion, you may create a masterpiece. This happened when I conjured up a fish dish that somehow came out a huge success, so I have named it and decided to share my own recipe (that actually worked) yay!!

I call it Smoked Haddock A La Joc (to give a fancy effect). It’s very yummy and here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:

  • A piece of smoked Haddock
  • Baby plum tomatoes
  • White onion
  • Curly kale
  • Dried parsley (sprinkles) -can’t quite remember the technical term.
  • Oil (of your choosing)

Method:

Start by chopping the tomatoes in half and the onion in what anyway you want to but keeping in mind that the smaller the pieces the easier they are to burn in a pan. The great thing about this is there’s no amount required. You can tailor it to how much you want. This recipe makes for one person so everyone will need a piece of haddock each.

Next gently fry the tomatoes and onion so that they are starting to go soft. Dont let them get any brown or black on them. Then add in a load of kale (you actually end up needing to put in more than you think).

When the veg gets to half way from being really soft and floppy, put a small amount of oil in a pan and let it get hot then pop in the Haddock piece skin down. Fry this for 4-5 mins on this side but keep checking it depending on its size then flip it over to cook for a final 2 mins.

Before the veg is done, sprinkle in some dried parsley to add to the taste and also season with some salt and pepper. Finally, all you need to do is plate up with the veg on bottom and placing the Haddock on top! Et Voila! Easy peasy.

Here are some pics I took of my genius invention:

Thanks for reading! Let me know if this recipe works for you and more importantly if you enjoy it! Bon Appetit.

Joc x

 

Leave a Reply

